The Assembly.—The Assembly consists of representatives of the members of the League, and meets annually in ordinary session each September in Geneva. At the 19th Assembly in September, 1938, the Canadian Delegates were the Right Hon. Ernest Lapointe, Mr. H. Hume Wrong, Mr. Paul Martin, Mr. J. T. Thorson, and Mrs. Nellie McClung.*

The Council.—The Council, which originally consisted of five permanent members and four non-permanent members, now consists of four permanent members (the British Empire, France, Italy, and the U.S.S.R.) together with eleven non-permanent members elected for three years from among the States Members of the League. The non-permanent members of the Council are at present as follows: Ecuador, Poland, and Roumania, terms expiring in 1938; Bolivia, China, Latvia, New Zealand, and Sweden, terms expiring in 1939; Belgium, Iran, and Peru, terms expiring in 1940. Canada was a member of the Council of the League from 1927 to 1930.

The Council, which normally meets four times a year and more frequently if circumstances should require it to do so, may deal at its meetings with any matter within the sphere of action of the League or affecting the peace of the world.

The Secretariat.—The Permanent Secretariat is the Civil Service of the League. The staff is appointed by the Secretary General with the approval of the Council. The officials of the Secretariat of the League are exclusively international officials, having international and not national duties. The first Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond, who was named in the Annex to the Covenant, resigned in 1933 and was succeeded by M. Joseph Avenol, who is assisted by three Deputy Secretaries General and by one Under-Secretary General.

Permanent Court of International Justice.—The Permanent Court of International Justice was established by the Protocol of Dec. 16, 1920, in accordance with Article 14 of the Covenant of the League of Nations. It is composed of a body of fifteen judges elected by the Assembly and Council of the League of Nations for a term of nine years, and sits at The Hague. The Court is competent to hear and determine any dispute of an international character which the parties thereto submit to it; it may also give an advisory opinion upon any dispute or question referred to it by the Council or the Assembly. Article 36 of the Statute of the Court provides that any State may recognize as compulsory, the jurisdiction of the Court in all or any classes of legal dispute concerning:—

- (a) The interpretation of a Treaty;
- (b) Any question of international law;
- (c) The existence of any fact which, if established, would constitute a breach of an international obligation, and the nature and extent of the reparations to be made for the breach of the international obligation.

Canada has been a member of the Court from its establishment, and in 1929 accepted, subject to certain reservations, the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court in the cases contemplated in Article 36.

The Budget of the League.—The expenditure of the League is covered by the contributions of States Members which are fixed in accordance with a scale which takes into account the population, area, and public revenue of each State concerned. The budget for the year 1939 was 21,698,926 gold francs reduced after

^{*}The Report of the Canadian Delegates to the Nineteenth Assembly of the League of Nations is obtainable from the King's Printer, Ottawa, price 10 cents.